Be Your Own Adventure

Creating Everyday Adventures

Words on Wednesday – Challenged

1 Comment

So, I have come to rely on one evening a week to do some writing on my own at a coffee shop. It didn’t happen this week. I am a bit annoyed. I find it quite difficult to do much writing at home while the boys are around. So I have thoughts swirling around in my head, but haven’t had a chance to get them on paper. I definitely need to work on either being able to write at home or having a backup plan when my regular writing time falls through.

I like the idea of writing for five minutes a day. My friend, Adriel, has a blog where she does that. Perhaps I need to give that a go. Certainly I must be able to find five minutes to myself? We shall see.

I also need the more extended periods of writing time though, so at the moment, I am challenged. That’s ok, I’ll just have to get creative.

In other news, I am trying to decide what to do with this.

I have had a vegetable garden for four years. Each year it has gotten a bit more difficult and less joyful for me. A lot of that is owing to our Central Oregon weather. We have an extremely short growing season with late and early frosts. I am considering whether I may just let my raised beds lie fallow for this year and hope to find renewed passion for it next year. Kind of makes me feel like a lazy bum, like I should just get on with it. It might need to be what I do though. We’ll see. Still pondering.

On this second day of Spring, we woke to snow on the ground and more falling. I really do love that.

How do you find time for your own pursuits? I need help figuring it out.

One thought on “Words on Wednesday – Challenged

  1. Have you tried using a poly-tunnel over your raised beds? Its a fairly simple way to extend the growing season by a month or two. I’ve used them in the past here in Spokane, WA and I’ve had decent luck.
    As far as managing time around the family, work, etc… I find it nearly impossible to find time to write unless I wake up really early. -Late to bed and early to rise, that’s the only way I know how to get anything done.

Leave a comment