Be Your Own Adventure

Creating Everyday Adventures

Tasty Tuesday – October 12-18, 2011

Leave a comment

It’s Tasty Tuesday! Here’s a round-up of new recipes I tried this week.

OK, so I’ve never made rice krispy treats. How did this happen? The situation was rectified this week though. Jude & I made the treats & they were good. Super simple recipe:

Rice Krispy Treats

5 c. Rice Krispies
1/4 c. butter
7 oz. jar marshmallow creme

Melt butter in 3 quart saucepan. Add marshmallow creme and cook over low heat, stirring constantly until marshmallow creme and butter are well blended. Remove from heat. Add Rice Krispies and stir until well coated with mixture.
Press warm marshmallow treat mixture lightly into a buttered 13 x 9 inch pan. Cut into squares when cool. Yield 24 (2 inch) squares.

We added some Fall/Halloween sprinkles & used mini muffin tins to form the treats. So easy & so yummy! This definitely won’t be the last time we make these.

I’m a big fan of Sausage Balls so when I came across this recipe on Pinterest, I knew I had to give it a try. The addition of cream cheese? Genius!

I was also looking for something quick & easy that the boys would enjoy. I found this recipe on a packet of crescent rolls. I am so excited that Safeway is carrying nitrate-free hot dogs now – they taste great.

Crescent Roll Hot Dogs

INGREDIENTS:

8 hot dogs
4 slices (3/4 oz each) American cheese, each cut into 6 strips
1 can (8 oz) Pillsbury® refrigerated crescent dinner rolls

DIRECTIONS:

Heat oven to 375°F. Slit hot dogs to within 1/2 inch of ends; insert 3 strips of cheese into each slit.
Separate dough into triangles. Wrap dough triangle around each hot dog. Place on ungreased cookie sheet, cheese side up.
Bake at 375°F. for 12 to 15 minutes or until golden brown.

I used grated cheese & it worked great.

Finally, I made a crustless quiche for breakfast today. Actually, it will be breakfast for the rest of the week! Again, an easy recipe with lots of options.

quick quiche

4 oz light cream cheese, softened
8 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1/4 cooked bacon
1 cup frozen broccoli, chopped (thawed and squeeze out excess moisture)
10 oz frozen spinach, chopped (thawed and squeeze out excess moisture)
5 fresh mushrooms, sliced
1 1/2 cups cheese of your choice

blend cream cheese, eggs and milk together well (there will still be some chunks of cream cheese) stir in remaining ingredients. pout into two greased quiche or pie pans. bake at 350 for 45-50 minutes.

I basically had none of those ingredients on hand so I used spinach & ham. Turned out great!

Leave a comment